Brian Grove: Post No.1

20 Sep

I think that any resume needs to be professional and I think that my resume and my wordmark display that. Almost to the point where the “BG” looks like the logo for a law firm or insurance company. I admit, I am a loud person and have a very bold personality so I went with the all capital letters in my name to make it bold and really stand out.I went with the underline to separate the big name with the contact information and from the rest of the body type. The wordmark is a lighter shade because when it was at full black it made the name distract the eyes when you were trying to read the body text. I went with Geneva text because it was a sans serif that I really liked, and I feel that the sans text is more “balanced” as professor Sanefski stresses. For my body text I went with Minion Pro because the serif contrasted against the plain bold strokes of the sans text. I combined the Experience and Skills section because I didn’t feel the experience section didn’t look big or substantial enough to stand on its own so I combined the two and created the big section you see in my resume. I used gray lines to separate the section titles and the body text because it went with the wordmark’s line and tint.

I would say my voice is loud, bold, but still professional and dignified. I designed it for a business executive in either the advertising or PR industry. I wanted to go for something that grabs the attention of the reader but doesn’t distract with gimmicks or curves.

5 Responses to “Brian Grove: Post No.1”

  1. devonbraunstein September 20, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    Brian,

    Overall, your resume has a very clean look to it. The professionalism you are trying to portray clearly comes across. I think you successfully made your wordmark seem like the wordmark for some sort of professional advertising firm or law office, leaving an impression of reliability and professionalism. The large, bold type face attracts the reader’s attention and the font choice gives off a trustworthy, sturdy feel. The gray scaled initials in the background look very structured and classy, as well. I like how you incorporated some of your contact information into the wordmark because it makes it easily accessible on the page. I also really like the overall structure of the page – the white space is spread out evenly along the edges with the meat of the resume focused in the middle. Compiling the majority of your experience and skills into the one category makes it concise and easy to read. Great job!

  2. marwaeltagouri September 22, 2011 at 12:32 am #

    Brian,

    Your resume has a particularly strong quality to it. The wordmark is bold, the lines are sharp, and the all-caps typeface lets your audience know that you’re both serious and professional. I personally love the gray initials, and think they bring the entire composition together. They’re the center of your wordmark, and the hanging “G” draws the reader’s attention straight down to your experience section, which is where you want them to focus most. I also love how the underline of your wordmark cleanly ties into the “G,” giving it a classy dynamic. I think the readability of your resume is excellent; there’s a good amount of white space, the lines are clean and everything has an even alignment. The text body goes right down the middle, and with bold fonts and simple bullets the resume’s clear and concise. Nice job!

  3. roxannehesh September 22, 2011 at 12:36 am #

    Your resume has a very clean and professional feel to it, which is appealing to the eye (and to potential employers!). You said you are a loud person with a bold personality and I feel like your wordmark demonstrates those characteristics. Your resume is very organized, which, like I mentioned earlier, has an appeal to the eye. The margins that you created help with the organization and make it easy to locate what one is looking for when reading. I like how you continued the use of lines from your wordmark into your resume because it helps with the organization and overall appeal. Having struggled with the white space on my own resume, I think you did an excellent job of making sure that all of the white space is pushed to the sides/corners of the paper. Based off of the resume’s look, I think any P.R. or advertising agency would hire you!

  4. spbrech September 22, 2011 at 3:04 am #

    What I like most about your resume is that it is attention grabbing and still remains professional. Like you said, your wordmark looks like it could be the logo of a law firm. The all caps works well with the Geneva typeface and the shade of gray in the B G does that much more to compliment the bold in your name. I too personally like to use sans-serifs because I feel they are more pronounced and stick out more without being too out there. I like the gray line separating the sections was the same shade and tint of that used in your wordmark. However I think you can take the skills out of your experience/skills section header, your description of the job does enough to tell employers what your skills are. By looking at your resume I would assume that you are loud and powerful person like you say. I think this would go over weel with any Public relations or advertising agency.

  5. lduda September 25, 2011 at 1:09 am #

    Brian,

    It looks great! I really like your wordmark because it it looks like something that would be used by a professional company. I also like how your contact information fallls right below your wordmark, so whoever is reading your resume does not have to look very far to find it. I am also a fan of the thin line going down the left side of the page to separate your section headers from the content. The sans serif font in contrast with the serif font in each of your sections actually works well together! The only thing I would say is to maybe make the font a bit bigger so you won’t have as much white space on the page. Other than that, though, it looks good!

    Lauren D.

Leave a comment