Chloe Gersten: Post No. 1

20 Sep

 

I wanted to keep my resume clean, organized, and simple. My voice is similar to the design–simple, yet professional. I wanted my resume to reflect my laid back attitude, but also show my organization and highlight my experience.  My resume is designed so it can be appropriate for any situation–something I can turn in for either a job at the mall or an internship with a magazine. Each section is clearly denoted and is easy to read. With the two columns, I give myself space to add more and move sections around easily, without losing the organization. The biggest problem I had in designing was a lot of white space. By simply making the margins smaller and decreasing the white space between sections, I can add experience as necessary. This design is not only easy for the reader, but also easy for me to edit in the future.

2 Responses to “Chloe Gersten: Post No. 1”

  1. Christina Fieni September 20, 2011 at 2:42 am #

    Hi Chloe!
    I think your wordmark is just great and your overall resume is so well-organized, clean and concise. The only thing I would say to do is for the second lines of bulleted and tabbed sentences, you should try to line them up with the line above it. It will be much easier to distinguish where one bullet point ends and another begins. Other than that, your resume looks fantastic!

    – Christina Fieni

  2. roxannehesh September 22, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    I absolutely love your wordmark. It is original, appealing, and it seems fitting to your personality – laid back but organized. Although not ideal, the placement of each section on your resume is appropriate in relation to your wordmark because it continues the curves that one originally sees in wordmark. Like Christina, the only criticism that I have is the alignment of the bullet points under the headings: experience, fieldwork/study, and education. The alignment of the words under each bullet point should be consistent so that it is easier on the eye. It is fine to indent the line under the main bullet point, but make sure the entire thing is consistent. If you indent the line under the main bullet point, make sure that if the description goes onto a second line that the second line is also indented. I hope this make sense because your resume is super appealing and if you fix the alignment problem, it is a winning paper!

Leave a comment